ARCHIVED: If I graduate or leave IU, when will my IU computing accounts expire?
When you graduate from or leave Indiana University, your student computing accounts are disabled. This occurs after the completion of two consecutive terms (including the summer as a "term") in which you were not enrolled through the IU registrar. You will then be unable to access your account, although UITS temporarily retains its associated files, including email messages. If you do not register for classes the following semester, your computing accounts and all associated files will be deleted.
If you are no longer enrolled at IU, but still need access to your computing accounts to complete academic work, you may find a sponsor to request a Affiliate account for you. See ARCHIVED: After leaving IU, how can I keep my IU computing accounts?
If you are still a registered student, you will not need an Affiliate account: Your student accounts should be active. If you cannot access your accounts, contact your school or department administration or the Office of the Registrar on your campus to have your record "term enabled." See How do I contact the Office of the Registrar at each IU campus?
The IU Alumni Association also offers permanent IU email addresses to new IU graduates and to all IU alumni. For more information, see the Knowledge Base document ARCHIVED: Can I keep my IU email address after I graduate?
For information about termination of former employee computing accounts, see About UITS computing account termination
Last modified on March 01, 2013.