ARCHIVED: In Oncourse, how are the Profile, Profile 2 Beta, and Roster tools related?
The Profile tool in My Workspace allows you to enter information about yourself and upload a photo for other participants to see. For more information, see ARCHIVED: Profile.
The Roster tool appears in course, project, and portfolio sites (unless the site owner has chosen not to use it), and draws information about site participants from the Profile tool. Most other site participants can see the photo you choose to share, if any; instructors can also opt to view official photos for students in their classes. In addition, the name of each participant in the Roster is linked to that person's profile. Depending on your role, your campus, and the choices of other participants to be hidden or visible in Oncourse, you may only be able to see some of your fellow participants in any given site.
The Profile 2 Beta tool is a new tool with social networking features. Like the original Profile tool, it allows you to upload a photo of yourself. However, the Roster tool will draw information only from the original Profile tool, not Profile 2 Beta. To see information uploaded to Profile 2 Beta, use the Profile 2 Beta tool.
When you first access Profile 2 Beta, you'll see the same information about yourself that's in the original Profile tool. Once you edit that information, the connection between the two profile tools is broken; updates in one tool will not affect the other.
For more, see Profile.
Last modified on August 09, 2012.