About the Canvas Priorities Committee

On this page:


The Office of the Vice President for Information Technology has steering committees in place to help develop strategies and establish priorities for shared administrative and academic systems. The Canvas Priorities Committee (a subset of the Learning Technologies Steering Committee) has specific responsibilities for ensuring thoughtful and timely decisions regarding priorities for Canvas, IU's online collaboration and learning system, and for recommending policies to guide its effective use.


The Canvas Priorities Committee is charged to:

  • Advise the appropriate Associate Vice President(s) and Associate Dean(s) about priorities for developing enhancements and providing new features and tools in Canvas.
  • Consider policy issues related to Canvas use and make recommendations to the appropriate governing organizations for consideration and possible action.
  • Recommend improvements in Canvas support that may be suggested from the committee’s review of feedback from students, faculty, and staff.

Committee members

  • Chair: Anne Leftwich, Interim Associate Vice President, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Michael Courtney, Associate Librarian for Outreach and Engagement, Wells Library, IU Bloomington
  • Nancy Evans, Senior Lecturer, Kelley School of Business, IU Bloomington
  • Barbara Manz Friesth, Assistant Dean for Learning Resources and Clinical Professor, School of Nursing, IUPUI
  • Christopher Kimmer, Assistant Professor of Informatics, IU Southeast
  • Tara Kingsley, Assistant Dean, Associate Professor, Education, IU Kokomo
  • Joan E. Lafuze, Professor of Biology, IU East
  • Sara Lowe, Associate Dean for Educational Services, University Library, IUPUI
  • Jennifer Mahoney, Senior Lecturer and Associate Director of the Writing Program, School of Liberal Arts, IUPUI
  • Adam Maksl, Associate Professor of Journalism and Media, IU Southeast
  • Nina Onesti, Senior Lecturer, Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering, IU Bloomington
  • William H. Wheeler, Associate Professor of Mathematics, IU Bloomington


  • Sarah Engel, Faculty Liaison, Faculty Engagement , UITS Learning Technologies
  • Justin Zemlyak, Director, Teaching and Learning Technologies, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Michele Kelmer, Director, Faculty Engagement and Outreach, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Anna Greene, Group Manager, eLearning Design, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Heather Warnsman, IT Business Analyst, Teaching and Learning Technologies, UITS Learning Technologies

This is document ansl in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2023-10-30 12:32:27.