About the Learning Technologies Steering Committee

On this page:


In order to enhance faculty involvement in the development of teaching and learning technologies and systems at Indiana University, the University Faculty Council approved the creation of a joint UITS/Faculty Council Learning Technologies Steering Committee (LTSC) in 2009. The committee's charge is to:

  • Advise the appropriate Associate Vice President(s) and Associate Deans about priorities for the initiation and implementation of new teaching and learning technologies, enhancements to existing technologies, and the retirement of these technologies and services.
  • Provide an annual report to the appropriate Faculty Council committee(s) and the university community.
  • Consider policy issues related to the use of learning technologies and make recommendations to the appropriate governing organizations for consideration and possible action.
  • Recommend improvements in services and support for learning technologies that may be suggested from the committee's review of feedback from faculty, students and staff.

Members of the committee will comprise a wide range of stakeholders and include representation from IUPUI, IUB, regional campuses, and university administration. Selected members of the LTSC will serve as liaisons to the appropriate faculty council technology committees on their respective campuses.

Committee members

  • Chair: Anastasia S. Morrone, Associate Vice President, UITS Learning Technologies/Dean of IT, IUPUI
  • Raman Adaikkalavan, Associate Professor and Chair, Computer and Information Sciences, IU South Bend
  • Tom Brush, Professor and Chair, Instructional Systems Technology, IU Bloomington
  • Michael Courtney, Assistant Librarian for Outreach and Engagement, Wells Library, IU Bloomington
  • Barbara Friesth, Clinical Professor and Assistant Dean for Learning Resources, School of Nursing, IUPUI
  • Andrew D. Gavrin, Associate Professor and Chair, Physics, IUPUI
  • Andrew R. Hopson, Associate Professor, Sound Design, Department of Theater, Drama and Contemporary Dance, IU Bloomington
  • Kevin Jones, Assistant Professor, Management, IUPUC
  • Hung Liu, Assistant Professor, Computer Science, IU Kokomo
  • Sarah Lowe, Educational Development Librarian, University Library, IUPUI
  • Harold Olivey, Clinical Faculty, Biology, IU Northwest
  • Susan Popham, Assistant Professor, English, IU Southeast
  • April Savoy, Assistant Professor, Informatics, IU East
  • Nolan Taylor, Clinical Assistant Professor, Kelley School of Business, IUPUI
  • William H. Wheeler, Associate Professor, Mathematics, IU Bloomington


  • Sarah Engel, Faculty Liaison, UITS Learning Technologies
  • John Gosney, Director, Faculty Outreach and Engagement, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Matthew Gunkel, Director, Teaching and Learning Technologies, UITS Learning Technologies
  • Julie Johnston, Director, Learning Spaces, UITS Learning Technologies

This is document aoom in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-12-12 14:49:19.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.