ARCHIVED: Using Oncourse Chat Room, how do I read, post, or delete messages?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.

On this page:


Reading Chat Room messages

To read messages in the Chat Room:

  • In the menubar, click Chat Room. You will enter the default room (as specified by the site leader). To change rooms, click Change Room at the top, and select the room you'd like to enter.
  • To see who is presently in the room, look under "Users in Chat" on the right side of the screen.
  • Messages appear in chronological order, with the most recent at the bottom. Messages will always identify the sender.
  • To hide or display the date or time messages were posted, select the appropriate option from the "View" drop-down list: Time Only, Date and Time, Date Only, Neither Date nor Time, or ID Only.
  • To change how many messages you see, from the second drop-down list, select one of the following options: Last 500 Messages, Last 10 messages, Past 3 days, or Show no message history. (If you choose Show no message history, you will see only messages posted after you made this selection.)

Posting Chat Room messages

To post a message:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. In the text box at the bottom of the window, type your message, and then click Add message.

    Note: No one can see your message until you click Add message, but once you do, only an instructor or a participant with special permission can delete your message.

  3. To discard a message that you haven't sent yet, click Clear.

Deleting Chat Room messages

To delete a Chat Room message that you have sufficient permission to delete, click the trash can icon next to the posting, and then click Delete.

Note: If you don't see a trash can icon, you don't have permission to delete the message.

To permanently delete all messages from a chat room, click Options, and then click Clear History. Click Delete to confirm.

This is document arcv in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 14:28:25.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.