ARCHIVED: Using Oncourse Chat Room, how can I add, edit, or delete chat rooms?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

You can use the Chat Room tool to add, edit, or delete chat rooms within a site. You can also choose which room loads by default when participants click Chat Room.

Adding a room

To add a room:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Click Add Room.
  4. Enter the chat room title and description in the text boxes.
  5. Under "Recent Chat Display", use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display:
    Show no Message History Displays no previous messages
    Show all messages
    Displays all previous messages
    Show the last 10 messages
    Displays the last ten messages by default; you can change the number of messages
    Show messages from the past 3 days
    Displays all messages from the past three days by default; you can change the number of days

    You can also choose whether to allow site participants to change display settings for their own chat windows.

    Note: No matter how many messages you choose to display, all messages are archived automatically, and are kept until you choose to clear the chat room's history. To do so, under the chat room's title, click Clear History, and then Delete. The Clear History option appears only when a chat room has messages in its archive.

  6. Click Update Options. Your new room will now appear under "Manage Rooms" in the list of available chat rooms. To make your new room appear by default when participants click Chat Room, click Set as Default.

Editing a room

To edit a room's title, description, or number of messages displayed:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Under the name of the room you wish to edit, click Edit.
  4. Change the chat room title or description, or use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display.
  5. When you are finished, click Update Options.

Note: To change the room that loads by default when participants click Chat Room, in Options, under "Manage Rooms", find the room and click Set as Default.

Deleting a room

To delete a room:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Under the name of the room you wish to delete, click Delete.
  4. Confirm the deletion by clicking Delete again.

This is document ardp in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 14:28:10.

  • Fill out this form to submit your issue to the UITS Support Center.
  • Please note that you must be affiliated with Indiana University to receive support.
  • All fields are required.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.

  • Fill out this form to submit your comment to the IU Knowledge Base.
  • If you are affiliated with Indiana University and need help with a computing problem, please use the I need help with a computing problem section above, or contact your campus Support Center.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.