ARCHIVED: Using Oncourse Forums, how do I revise or delete a forum or topic?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

Note: To delete an individual forum message, see ARCHIVED: Deleting a forum message.

Revising a forum or topic

Note: You can revise the default template that will apply to all newly created forums; see ARCHIVED: Changing forum template settings. Following the instructions below will override the default settings for the individual forum or topic you revise.

To revise a forum or topic:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Forums, and then click Forum Settings or Topic Settings.
  2. You can:
    • Change the title, descriptions, and attachments
    • Make the forum or topic moderated
    • Require participants to post before reading others' contributions
    • Display the forum or topic immediately, or choose specific dates for it to open and close
    • Cause all messages in a given conversation to be marked as read automatically when one is opened
    • Change whether the forum or topic will be linked to the Gradebook
    • Disable forum/topic postings
  3. To change the permissions, click Permissions and change the settings; for more, see ARCHIVED: Controlling access in Forums.
  4. When you're finished, click one of the following:
    • Save: Saves your changes and returns you to the "Forums" screen
    • Save Settings & Add Topic: Saves your changes and opens the "Topic Settings" screen for adding a new topic to your forum; see ARCHIVED: Creating new forums and topics
    • Save Draft: Saves your forum as a draft and returns you to the "Forums" screen
    • Delete Forum or Delete Topic: Removes your forum or topic with all associated messages, and takes you to a confirmation page
    • Cancel: Cancels your changes and returns you to the "Forums" screen

Deleting a forum or topic

To delete a forum or topic you've created:

  1. On the "Forums" screen, next to the title of the forum or topic you wish to delete, click Forum Settings or Topic Settings.
  2. Click Delete Forum or Delete Topic.
  3. Confirm or cancel the deletion when prompted.

You can also delete forums and topics by selecting Delete Topic or Delete Forum from the More drop-down menu.

This is document atdk in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 15:16:36.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.