ARCHIVED: In Oncourse, as a portfolio site coordinator, how do I view and change the status of a matrix cell?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

Using the Manage Status feature, the site coordinator can reset the status of any cell for one user or all users, regardless of the previous status of the cell. This may be necessary if a matrix user takes an action resulting in a change of cell status that needs to be undone. For example, suppose a student accidentally submits a cell before completing a required reflection. The cell is now in "Pending" status, which is read-only, so the student is unable to add the reflection. In such cases, the site coordinator can intervene and reset the status of the cell.

To change the status of a matrix cell:

  1. From the menubar of the site with the matrix, choose Matrices.
  2. Click the title of the matrix you wish to access.
  3. From the Select user drop-down menu, click the name of the participant whose matrix cell you wish to change. You will see a read-only copy of the matrix for that person.
  4. Each cell's status is indicated by its color. Click the cell whose status you wish to change.
  5. In the upper left corner under "Matrices", click Manage Status.
  6. From the drop-down menu next to "Change Status to", choose Ready, Pending, Complete, Locked, or Returned.
  7. Choose the appropriate radio button:
    • For this user only
    • For all users
    • For all users in group:

    Note: Exercise extreme caution when selecting For all users. This option should be used only in rare cases when an evaluator or coordinator has made a mistake affecting all users.

  8. If you chose For all users in group, select a group from the drop-down box.
  9. Click Continue to change the status and return to the matrix cell, or click Cancel to return to the matrix cell without changing the status.
  10. Click Return to Matrix, and verify the cell's status by checking its color.

A cell's status can also be changed by an evaluator after an evaluation has been added. For more, see ARCHIVED: Adding an evaluation using the Evaluations tool or ARCHIVED: Adding an evaluation in the Matrices tool.

This is document avzf in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 16:03:55.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.