Deactivate Adobe software

On this page:


Overview

Adobe's Creative Cloud license allows two concurrent active instances of Creative Cloud. You can install Creative Cloud on as many computers as you wish, but you can only be logged in on two of them at any given time. If you attempt to log into a third instance, you will receive a warning and an opportunity to deactivate (i.e., log out of) the other instances. For this reason, if you have Creative Cloud installed on more than one computer, UITS recommends that you deactivate Creative Cloud any time you are not actively using it.

You may choose to deactivate Adobe Creative Cloud through the Creative Cloud desktop application or through one of the Creative Cloud applications you have installed on your device (e.g., Photoshop, Dreamweaver, etc.). In either case, ensure that your computer is connected to the internet before deactivating.

From the Creative Cloud desktop application

To deactivate Adobe software from the Creative Cloud desktop application:

  1. Open the Adobe Creative Cloud desktop application from the icon on the taskbar or Start menu (Windows), or from the dock or Finder (Mac).
  2. If you are prompted to sign in, enter your IU email address (in the format username@iu.edu) into the username field and then press Tab or Enter. If you are asked to choose between Adobe ID and Enterprise ID, select Enterprise ID.
    Note:

    Whenever you log into Adobe Creative Cloud, always use the format username@iu.edu as your username, even if it doesn't match your primary IU email address.

  3. At the CAS screen, log in with your IU credentials.
  4. Refresh your account information and restart the app (Ctrl-Alt-r in Windows, or command-option-r on a Mac).
  5. The Creative Cloud desktop application should restart automatically. If it doesn't after a few minutes, launch it manually as you did in step 1 above.
  6. To open the profile menu, at the upper right, select your profile picture (or the head icon).
  7. Click Sign out.
  8. Confirm that you wish to sign out. This will sign you out of all Creative Cloud applications so that you may log in on another device.

From any Creative Cloud application

To deactivate Adobe software from any Creative Cloud application:

  1. Open the Adobe Creative Cloud application of your choice (e.g., Photoshop).
  2. From the menu at the top of the page, click Help, and then select Sign Out.
  3. Confirm that you wish to sign out. This will sign you out of all Creative Cloud applications so that you may log in on another device.

This is document ayiv in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-06-25 17:11:28.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.