Forget a wireless network

On this page:


Overview

Forgetting a wireless network on your device is often a useful strategy when troubleshooting wireless network problems, particularly if your configuration or authentication information for the wireless network may be incorrect. See below for instructions to forget a wireless network on various operating systems and device types.

Desktop systems

Windows 10

To forget a wireless network in Windows 10:

  1. At the bottom right in the system tray, click the network icon, and choose Network & Internet settings.
  2. Click Manage Wi-Fi settings.
  3. Under "Manage known networks", select the Wi-Fi network to be removed.
  4. Click Forget.

Windows 7

To forget a wireless network in Windows 7:

  1. At the bottom right in the system tray, click the network icon, and choose Open Network and Sharing Center.
  2. In the "Tasks" pane, click Manage wireless networks.
  3. Right-click the connection you want to delete, and then click Remove network.
  4. In the "Manage Wireless Networks - Warning" dialog box, click OK.

macOS

To forget a wireless network in macOS:

  1. At the top of your screen, click the Wi-Fi symbol, and then select Open Network Preferences.
  2. In the lower right, choose Advanced.
  3. Under "Preferred Networks", select the Wi-Fi network to be removed.
  4. Click - (the minus sign) to forget the network.
  5. Click OK.

Mobile devices

Android

To forget a wireless network on your Android mobile device:

  1. From the home screen, choose Settings.
  2. In the settings menu, choose Wi-Fi.
  3. Press and hold the Wi-Fi network to be removed, and then choose Forget.

iOS

To forget a wireless network on your iPhone or iPad:

  1. From the home screen, choose Settings.
  2. In the settings menu, choose Wi-Fi.
  3. Locate the Wi-Fi network to be removed and click the blue symbol next to the name.
  4. If the option to forget the network is available, tap Forget this Network. If that option is not available:
    1. From the home screen, choose Settings.
    2. In the settings menu, choose General.
    3. Locate and tap Profile.
    4. Select the profile for Wi-Fi network to be removed, and tap Delete profile.

This is document ayxt in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2019-12-09 15:55:27.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.