ARCHIVED: Oncourse Profile: Overview

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.

What it does

The Profile tool (listed under My Workspace) allows you to enter or choose to display public and personal information, including a profile picture. The tool can have institutionally or individually provided information about any user in the system.

You may control access to your information, search for users by name or common interest, view their profiles, view their connections, add them as connections, and more.

Key concepts

Controlling profile information: You can edit your profile information or change your privacy settings anytime. The "Privacy settings" page allows you to control access to your profile information. You may choose to display the various parts of your profile to everyone, only your connections, or only yourself.

Search: You can search for other participants' profiles by name or common interest.

Connections: You may add other participants as connections. Your connections might include friends, classmates, colleagues, or anyone else with whom you share some relationship. Connections must be people who have access to Oncourse, i.e., those affiliated with Indiana University or those with IU Guest accounts. The other person must confirm the connection to be listed on your profile.

Things to consider

  • If you do not hide your information, it will be visible when others search for your profile.

Help documentation

For help documentation about the Profile tool, see ARCHIVED: Profile.

This is document bavr in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 17:47:11.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.