ARCHIVED: In Oncourse Forums, how do I change the template settings?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

The template settings in Forums apply by default each time you create a new forum or topic, although you can override the default settings for each specific forum or topic as you create or revise them (see ARCHIVED: Creating new forums and topics or ARCHIVED: Revising or deleting a forum or topic). To change the template settings that will apply to all future forums and topics:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Forums, and then click Template Settings.
  2. Set each of the following to your desired default setting:
    • Forum Posting: Choose whether topics will be moderated and whether participants must post before reading others' contributions.
    • Availability: Choose to display the forum immediately, or set specific dates to open and close it to participants.
    • Mark All Messages in Conversations Read: Changing this setting will automatically mark messages in a given conversation as read when the first message in the conversation is opened.
    • Permissions: For more about the permission settings you can modify, see ARCHIVED: Controlling access in Forums.
  3. Click Save to save your changes.

This is document bcss in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 17:31:28.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.