Publish a public Tableau report and avoid losing public access to republished workbooks

On this page:


Publish a public report

To publish a public Tableau report in Indiana University's Business Intelligence Manager (BIM) site:

  1. Navigate to https://bim.bi.iu.edu/ and, if prompted, log in with your IU username and passphrase.
  2. Right-click on the folder to which you wish to add a report, and then select Add Report from the drop-down menu.
  3. Fill in the metadata as appropriate.
  4. To make the report public:
    • For "Data Security Group Type", select either Enterprise or Departmental.
    • For "Data Classification", select Public.
    • From the Security Groups drop-down list, select one of the following two groups:
      • If you want anyone in the world to be able to view your report, click Anonymous Users.
      • If you want any user who has authenticated through IU CAS to be able to view your report, including those who have not completed the user agreement, click All Domain Users.
  5. To publish the report, click Submit for Approval or Publish.

Avoid losing public access to a republished workbook

By default, when you republish a workbook to Tableau Server, Tableau Desktop will revert the workbook's permissions to the project default permissions.

To avoid losing public access to a republished workbook, make a "dummy" change to the permissions as follows:

  1. In the "Publish Workbook to Tableau Server" dialog box, under the "Permissions" heading, next to "Set to existing workbook default", click Edit.
  2. Click one of the security groups or the Guest account, which will open a dialog box. Don't make any changes, and click OK.
  3. Click the original publishing dialog to return focus there. Under "Permissions", you should now see the phrase "Set to custom", which means your republished workbook is publicly accessible.

This is document akqk in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-10-12 17:15:42.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.