About Slashtmp at IU

On this page:


Overview

At Indiana University, Slashtmp provides graduate students, faculty, and staff a way to share data with others via a web interface. It is particularly useful for sharing files that are too large to send via email. Slashtmp has two versions:

  • Simple: Use the Simple version if you're transferring non-sensitive research data.
  • Critical: You must use the Critical version if you're transferring data that's subject to HIPAA regulations, or other Critical data (for example, Social Security numbers, credit card numbers, or bank account numbers).

Your Slashtmp files will disappear automatically 30 days after you upload them (but you may delete them sooner if you wish). Slashtmp files are not backed up; when you delete a file, there is no way to recover it. Do not use Slashtmp as the only place to keep files you cannot afford to lose.

Your Slashtmp account is allotted 4 GB of storage space. The heading of your "File download section" shows how many files you have stored, followed by the total amount of used space and then the percentage of used quota.

Only certain web browsers support uploading files larger than 2 GB to Slashtmp.

To report problems with Slashtmp, email ithelp@iu.edu.

Upload a file

  1. Go to Slashtmp. If prompted, log in with your IU username and passphrase.
  2. Read the information on the page, and then choose either a Critical or Simple upload.
  3. In the "File upload section", under "Upload a new file", click Choose File, and browse to choose your file.
  4. Add an optional "File Description" (UITS recommends you do this).
  5. To restrict access to users with an IU username and passphrase, select Require user to have an IU Network ID for download. If you don't choose this option, anyone with the URL for the uploaded file can access it.
  6. To reduce the risk of unauthorized access, you must encrypt the file by entering a password (at least eight characters long) in the "Encryption password" and "Re-enter password" fields. You (and others with whom you share the URL) must use the password to download the file.
    Note:
    The Slashtmp server never stores your password. Your password is used only to encrypt and then to decrypt the data. If you forget your password or mistype it during upload, there is no way to recover the original data. If this happens, delete the file from Slashtmp, and then upload it again.
  7. When you're finished, click Upload the file!

    If you're using the Critical version, Slashtmp will prompt you for a list of up to 15 email addresses, each of which will receive a unique URL used for downloading the critical file. Each download URL can be used one time only. After uploading a critical file, you can go to your list of Slashtmp files, and click Send Invites to generate and send more download URLs.

  8. Slashtmp notifies you when the upload is complete, and provides a URL and quick link for accessing the file. Follow the on-screen instructions to return to the main page.
  9. Share the URL and the encryption password with people with whom you want to share the file. Warn others if accessing the file requires IU authentication.

Let someone share a file with you

To let someone share a file with you:

  1. On the home page, select either Critical or Simple.
  2. In the "File upload section", near "Allow a guest user to upload a file", click Create upload URL!
  3. Enter the email address of the guest user, and then click Create Guest Upload. You will see a confirmation screen, and the user will receive an email message with a link enabling him or her to upload one file to Slashtmp. That person can follow the link to upload the file using the instructions above.
    Note:
    If you create a guest upload URL using the Critical version, the person who uploads the file will have to use the Critical version as well. If you create a guest upload URL using the Simple version, the person who uploads the file also will have to use the Simple version.
  4. When the person has uploaded the file, it will appear in the "File download section" on your Slashtmp main page. To download the file, under "URL/Link", click the corresponding link and choose to save the file to your computer.

Delete files

Your Slashtmp files will disappear automatically 30 days after you upload them (but you may delete them sooner if you wish). Slashtmp files are not backed up; when you delete a file, there is no way to recover it. Do not use Slashtmp as the only place to keep files you cannot afford to lose.

To delete a file on Slashtmp:

  1. On the Slashtmp main page, find the file in the "File download section".
  2. Under "Keep/Delete", select Delete file, and then Delete checked files.

You will see a notification when the deletion is complete, and you can then follow the on-screen instructions to return to the main page.

This is document angt in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2019-05-23 08:02:00.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.