ARCHIVED: In Oncourse, what is my privacy status, and how do I change it?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.

For privacy reasons, you may want to hide your name from other participants in a site. Also, you may not want them to be able to contact you through the site.

When you enter a site for the first time, the system will prompt you to choose a privacy status. You also have the option to bypass the prompt and choose later; if you choose this option, the system will prompt you again to select a privacy status the next time you enter the site.

You can also manage your privacy status (for a particular site or for all sites at once) at any time using Preferences:

  1. Choose the My Workspace tab.
  2. From the menubar, click Preferences.
  3. Near the top, click Privacy Status.
    • To change your privacy status for a particular site:
      1. Next to "Choose a site", use the drop-down list to select the appropriate site.
      2. Select either Remain hidden in this site or Make me visible in this site, and then click Update.
    • To change your privacy status for all your sites at once, click either Show Me in All Sites or Hide Me in All Sites.

Things to consider

  • Students who are hidden will remain visible to instructors, project owners, and assistants. In the Roster tool, each participant's privacy status is indicated by an icon next to his or her name.
  • Students who are hidden will not be visible to other participants in the Roster tool.
  • Students who are hidden will not appear in the recipient list for messages in the Messages tool.
  • Group visibility is not affected by an individual's privacy status.

    For example, if you are a student with privacy status set to hidden, you won't appear in the recipient list in the Messages tool, and other students won't be able to send messages directly to you as an individual. However, if your instructor has added you to a group (see ARCHIVED: Managing groups), you will still receive messages sent to that group.

  • Your privacy status for Oncourse does not apply to the CourseNetworking CN (Beta) tool, which has its own visibility settings.

This is document ausi in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 15:43:59.

  • Fill out this form to submit your issue to the UITS Support Center.
  • Please note that you must be affiliated with Indiana University to receive support.
  • All fields are required.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.

  • Fill out this form to submit your comment to the IU Knowledge Base.
  • If you are affiliated with Indiana University and need help with a computing problem, please use the I need help with a computing problem section above, or contact your campus Support Center.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.