ARCHIVED: In Oncourse, how do I control access to my site?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

You can unpublish your site temporarily, which makes it unavailable to site participants while you make changes (e.g., to prepare for the upcoming semester). You can also choose whether people who are not site participants can find and join your site or see certain files.

  1. In your site's menubar, click Site Setup.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note:
    Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.
  2. Click Manage Access.
  3. Under "Site Status", choose whether your site is visible to participants or not:
    • To open your site to participants, select Publish site. A published site will appear as a tab and/or in the active sites list of each of your participants.
    • To hide your site from participants, select Leave as draft - accessible only to site maintainers. This can be valuable if you are building a site and don't want participants to see the site and materials before you are ready.

    Note: If you unpublish your site, students in the course no longer see the course tab in their Oncourse workspaces. Students may become confused about whether they are officially registered for your course if they do not see it in their workspaces, particularly in the few weeks prior to the beginning of a new semester.

    Individuals with any type of instructor role (AI/TA, instructor, assistant) will still have access to the course when it is not published.

  4. Under "Site Visibility", choose whether your site will be listed in the public site list once it is published:
    • To limit site visibility to only your site participants, select Private.
    • To open your site description and any public announcements or content to anyone with access to IU's site list, select Display in public site list.
  5. Under "Global Access", choose which users may join the site once it is published:
    • If you want to control who has access to your site, select Limited to whom I add manually, or through automatic roster updates.
    • If you want to open your site to more participants by allowing users to search for and join the site, select Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id.
  6. Once selected, decide what role you want to automatically apply to these participants. Next to "Role for people that join site:", select the appropriate role. For more about roles, see ARCHIVED: Participant roles.
  7. Click Update.

This is document arci in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 14:28:16.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.