In Microsoft SharePoint Online, how do I add or delete users?

On this page:

Important:
You must be a site owner or a site collection administrator to add or delete users.

Adding users

The best practice for adding users to a SharePoint site is generally to first create a group with appropriate permissions, and then add users to the group. See Create a New Group (requires authentication). Note that you cannot currently add AD Groups to SharePoint Online.

If you have an existing group configured, to add users to it:

  1. In your site, click Site Contents, and then click Settings.
  2. Under "Users and Permissions", click People and groups.
  3. On the left, select the group to which you'd like to add the users.
  4. Click the drop-down arrow next to New, and then select Add Users.
  5. In the box "Enter names, email addresses or 'Everyone'", type the name, username, or email address of the user and select them from the search box that appears.
  6. Include a personal message if desired, and click Show Options to choose whether to send an email invitation.
  7. When you're finished, click Share.

Deleting users

To delete users from a SharePoint site:

  1. In your site, click Site Contents, and then click Settings.
  2. Under "Users and Permissions", click People and groups.
  3. On the left, select the group from which you'd like to remove the users.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the users you want to delete.
  5. Click Actions, and then select Remove Users from Group.
  6. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

This is document azzn in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-11-28 12:06:42.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.