ARCHIVED: In Oncourse Profile, how do I search for someone's profile, and add or remove connections?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.

In Profile, you can see the profiles of other Oncourse participants, and add them as connections. Your connections might include friends, classmates, colleagues, or anyone else with whom you share some relationship.

On this page:


Searching for someone's profile

  1. From your My Workspace menubar, click Profile.
  2. At the top of the page, click Search.
  3. You can search for people as follows:
    • By name or email address: In the "Search terms" box, enter the last name or email address of the profile you would like to locate, and then select the Person's name or email radio button.
    • By common interest: In the "Search terms" box, enter an interest, and then select the Common interest radio button.
  4. To omit your existing connections from the search results, uncheck Include connections in search results.
  5. If desired, check Limit search to selected worksite, and then select a site from the drop-down box.
  6. Click Search.
  7. Matching profiles will display underneath the search boxes. Click a name to view the associated profile.

Back to top

Adding a new connection

  1. Search for someone's profile, as described above.
  2. When viewing the search results or the person's profile, click Add as a connection.
  3. In the box that appears, click Add connection.

Note: In most cases, the other person will have to confirm your request.

Back to top

Confirming a new connection request

If someone adds you as a connection, you'll receive an email notification, unless you have chosen not to be notified in your Profile preferences; see ARCHIVED: Changing your profile preferences. Accepting the connection request allows you to be listed on the other person's profile. To act on the request:

  1. From your My Workspace menubar, click Profile.
  2. At the top of the page, click Connections. You'll see a list of your connections and connection requests.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • To accept a connection request, click Confirm connection to the right of the person's name, and then click Confirm connection request.
    • To deny a connection request, click Ignore connection to the right of the person's name, and then click Ignore connection request.

Back to top

Removing a connection

  1. From your My Workspace menubar, click Profile.
  2. At the top of the page, click Connections.
  3. To the right of the connection you want to remove, click Remove connection, and then click Remove connection to confirm.

Back to top

This is document bawm in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 17:53:57.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.