Reset your Canvas course content and settings

On this page:


Overview

From time to time, you may want to delete all of the content in a Canvas course site and restore the default settings for the site. For example, if you import course content from another site or apply a course template, you may decide that you don't want to use the imported content and settings. The actions described below will delete all content from your course site, but leave the course roster intact. Completely resetting your course is a two-step process. First, you'll delete the existing course content, and then you'll reapply the default settings for the course. You can opt to do either step without the other, but if you decide to do both, you should carry them out in the order specified below.

Delete all course content

Important:
This step deletes all existing content from your course, including any content you created after applying the IU Course Template. It also changes the settings to use the defaults established by Instructure, which are different from the default course settings used at Indiana University. Take steps to preserve any content you want to keep (for example, copy and paste the content to a Word doc, import the course into an empty shell, etc.) before proceeding.

To delete all course content from your Canvas course:

  1. Navigate to the course with the content you wish to delete.
  2. From the course navigation menu, select Settings.
  3. In the "Settings" sidebar at the right, select Delete All Course Content. You will be prompted to confirm. To proceed, click Reset Course Content, or click Cancel to cancel.
  4. If you selected Reset Course Content, a completely new course shell with a new ID (the number following "https://iu.instructure.com/courses/...") will be generated. All users previously enrolled in the course will remain enrolled.

Reapply default settings

When new SIS and manually created courses are generated in Canvas, the course home page, navigation, and settings are automatically updated to reflect defaults established by Indiana University or your campus, school, or department (for more about course defaults, see Distribute templates to Canvas courses in your campus, school, or department).

Important:

When you reapply the settings in your Canvas course, the settings and navigation in your course will be replaced with those in the default template. Reapply settings before you start creating or importing course content. If you apply it afterward:

  • You may overwrite your course syllabus or other content in your course with content in the default template. If you already created content in your course site, you may want to consider making a copy of your course before applying the template.
  • If you made customizations to the settings or navigation of the course, you may need to reset them.

If your course uses an eText, you will need to re-add the IU eTexts (Unizin Engage) tool to your course navigation. For help with course navigation, see How do I manage Course Navigation links?

To reapply the IU defaults:

  1. Navigate to the course with the content you wish to delete.
  2. From the course navigation menu, select Settings.
  3. In the "Settings" sidebar at the right, select Reapply Default Settings.
  4. Read the information in the pop-up window and click Submit to proceed or Cancel to cancel.
  5. If you clicked Submit, a template will be imported into your course that will reset your course settings. It may take several seconds for the course settings to update. Reload the page in your browser to see the updated navigation and settings.

This is document bgjf in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2021-02-18 08:23:01.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.