Move photos out of your Google at IU account

On this page:


Overview

To stay under the new Google storage quota at IU, you may need to move photos to your personal Google account, or download them so you can move them to a different storage location of your choice.

Important:
After you've completed one of the processes below, move all photos remaining in your Google at IU account to the trash. Then be sure to delete those photos from the trash so that they don't continue to count against your quota, since Google won't automatically delete photos from your trash for 60 days.

Transfer photos to a personal Google account

To do this, follow Google's instructions to set up partner sharing, keeping these points in mind:

  1. Enable partner sharing from your Google at IU account, selecting your personal Google account as your IU Google account's partner.
  2. Approve the partner request from your personal Google account.
  3. From your personal Google account, follow Google's instructions in the Save your partner's photos expandable section to add the photos in your Google at IU account to your personal account.
  4. When the process has fully completed (this may take some time), delete all the photos in your Google at IU account. This will move them to the trash.

    Then, be sure to delete all photos from the trash so that they don't count against your quota, since Google won't automatically delete photos from your trash for 60 days.

You can then check to see how much storage you're using.

Download photos to move them to another storage location of your choice

  1. Navigate to https://photos.google.com/ and log in using your@iu.edu email address.
  2. Select the checkbox in the upper left corner of your first photo. Hold down the Shift key, and navigate to the last photo you want to download. Select that photo's checkbox, and release the Shift key. This will select all photos in between those two photos.
  3. To download your images into a Zip file, press Shift-D, or select the blue vertical ellipsis in the upper right corner (next to the trash icon) and choose Download.

    A Zip file of all selected photos will download to your local device.

  4. Upon confirmation that the download is complete, again select all your photos, and then choose the blue trash icon to move them to your Google at IU account's trash.

    After that, be sure to delete all photos from the trash so that they don't count against your quota, since Google won't automatically delete photos from your trash for 60 days.

You can then check to see how much storage you're using.

This is document biav in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2022-11-08 09:24:59.