ARCHIVED: Using Oncourse, how do I publish or unpublish my site?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.
Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

In Oncourse, all sites are published by default. You can unpublish your site temporarily, which makes it unavailable to site participants while you make changes (e.g., to prepare for the upcoming semester). When you're ready, you can publish the site again so that participants can see it.

You can do this either from Site Setup within the site in question, or from Worksite Setup within My Workspace; see ARCHIVED: Editing your site information if you've removed the Site Setup tool.

Note: If you unpublish your site, students in the course no longer see the course tab in their Oncourse workspaces. Students may become confused about whether they are officially registered for your course if they do not see it in their workspaces, particularly in the few weeks prior to the beginning of a new semester.

Individuals with any type of instructor role (AI/TA, instructor, assistant) will still have access to the course when it is not published.

If a site you are in is unpublished, it will read "Unpublished Site" at the top of the menubar and provide you with the option to Publish Now.

To change the publication status of your site:

From Site Setup

  1. In your site's menubar, click Site Setup.
  2. Click Manage Access.
  3. Under "Site Status", select Publish site or Leave as Draft - accessible only to site maintainers.
  4. Click Update.

From Worksite Setup

  1. From your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.
  2. Check the box next to the site you're working with, and then click Edit.
  3. Click Manage Access.
  4. Under "Site Status", select Publish site or Leave as Draft - accessible only to site maintainers.
  5. Click Update.

This is document arai in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 14:17:48.

  • Fill out this form to submit your issue to the UITS Support Center.
  • Please note that you must be affiliated with Indiana University to receive support.
  • All fields are required.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.

  • Fill out this form to submit your comment to the IU Knowledge Base.
  • If you are affiliated with Indiana University and need help with a computing problem, please use the I need help with a computing problem section above, or contact your campus Support Center.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.