Manage institutional storage locations you've created at IU

On this page:


Overview

At Indiana University, to manage institutional storage locations you've created, visit Manage Your Storage Locations. If a storage location was created manually, it will not appear on this site.

It is important for you to manage your storage location's metadata and keep it up to date, because it allows the university to manage its data storage risk and better understand data storage needs.

Important:

IU will be limiting its storage footprint in the Google platform.

Although existing Google Shared Drives will continue to work normally for the time being, creation of new Google Shared Drives is now restricted to these scenarios:

  • As a transitional step to simplify the process of migrating institutional data from Google My Drive to Microsoft Teams
  • An option for departments that wish to pay for continued storage in Google

For further details, see About changes to storage in Google at IU.

Viewing and modifying storage location metadata

On Manage Your Storage Locations, use the SELECT button to choose the storage location you own or co-own. Storage location entries are broken down into four tabs, as follows.

View Details

This tab displays metadata originally submitted via the Institutional storage request form or later edited via Manage Your Storage Locations, and current members pulled via a live API call.

To edit the information displayed on this page, click the Edit Details tab.

Owner and Co-Owner do not necessarily reflect the permissions of the current owner(s); they reflect the Owner and Co-Owner as recorded in the database. All user permission changes should be managed via the storage location within its respective platform.

An "Unable to retrieve Members" error suggests the storage location may be in a disabled or deleted state.

If you believe the storage location was disabled or deleted in error, have the owner recover the Microsoft Teams team or the Google Shared Drives space:

  • For instructions on how to recover a Microsoft Teams team, see Restore a deleted team.
  • To recover a Google Shared Drives space, email Tier 2 Support so that Google at IU administrators may recover the location on your behalf.

All storage locations created via the institutional storage request form will continue to be listed in Manage Your Storage Locations even if they've been deleted from everyone's record.

If a storage location's owner/co-owner is no longer with IU (or otherwise unavailable), have the original owner/co-owner's direct manager or IT manager email a request to it-incident@iu.edu so that UIPO may process it as a request related to Privacy of Electronic Information and Information Technology Resources (IT-07).

Note:
Data recovery is possible only within 30 days of a storage location being disabled or deleted.

This tab also includes a link to Service agreement for Microsoft and Google storage owners (near the bottom, above "Members").

Edit Details

From here, you can adjust metadata collected via the Institutional storage request form, such as:

  • Owner and Co-Owner: These fields are meant to denote those individuals who are responsible for the storage location and would be best to contact in case of a security audit. These fields do not necessarily reflect the permissions of the current Owner (Microsoft Teams) or Manager (Google Shared Drives). The drop-down menus will display only accounts with current owner permissions (via a live API call). All user permission changes should be managed via the storage location within its respective platform.
  • Storage Purpose: This field may be edited for audit purposes, which will change what is displayed for the description of a Microsoft Teams team within the "Manage Team" view.
  • Intended Use: This field may be edited to switch between Individual Storage and Shared Storage. You cannot change between Employee and Student storage; you should request a new storage location via the Institutional storage request form instead.
  • External Collaborators (Employee only): This field lets you change your storage location's external sharing functionality. For Restricted or Critical storage, this will change the storage name prefix to [Sec] or [Sec-E] depending upon whether External Collaborators is toggled on or off.
  • Data Classification (Employee only): This field lets you edit your storage location's data classification. Updating Public or University-Internal data classifications to Critical or Restricted data classifications adds "[SEC]" to the storage location's name. Switching between Public and University Internal classifications does not modify the storage location's name. Switching between Restricted and Critical classifications does not modify the storage location's name. You cannot change the data classification from Restricted or Critical to Public or Internal; if you need to do this, you should request a new storage location via the Institutional storage request form instead.
  • Data Domains (Employee only): This field lets you indicated the types of data being stored in your storage location. For guidance, explore the Data Sharing and Handling (DSH) tool.
  • Sensitive Data Categories (Employee only): This field lets you indicate the categories of sensitive data being stored in your storage location. See the inline links for more information about each category.
  • Other Sensitive Content that May be Stored (Employee only): This field lets you indicate whether other sensitive information, such as biometrics scans, personal location tracking information, and video/audio, or other confidential information is being stored in your storage location.
  • Storage Location Name: This field lets you edit your storage location's name by adjusting the "Campus", "Department", and "Short Name". For Employee storage, changing the data classification from Public or Internal to Restricted or Critical adds "[Sec]" or "[Sec-E]" to the name, depending upon whether external collaboration is on or off.
  • Acknowledgment Statement: This field lets you renew your Service agreement for Microsoft and Google storage owners.
  • Save your Storage Location Changes: Click Submit to commit your changes to the Manage Your Storage Locations database.

Details Log

This tab displays changes made to the storage location via Manage Your Storage Locations. Details include Change Date, Changed By, Field Name, Previous Value, and Current Value.

You may also filter the Details Log by timeframe, Change By, Field Name, Previous Value, or Current Value.

Example field names:

  • Purpose
  • AllowExternalCollaborators
  • IntendedUse
Note:
If changed, the original requester will be noted in the Details Log.

Usage Log

This tab shows a log of activity (updated daily) on the storage location. Allow a few minutes for the information to be displayed.

You can filter the Usage Log by timeframe, UserID, Action, or Details.

Example actions:

  • FileAccessed
  • FilePreviewed
  • FileDownloaded

Known issues

  • For Microsoft Storage locations, it is possible to change the name in Microsoft Teams or SharePoint Online; however, the name in the site will display only its original name or the name resulting from changes made in the site itself. Administrators are working to display a warning when names do not match. If you change a location's name from within the site, the name will also be updated in Microsoft Teams or Google at IU Shared Drives.
  • You may change the owner and co-owner to anyone else who is already an Owner (Microsoft Teams at IU) or Manager (Google at IU Shared Drives) of the location. If you remove anyone as both Owner and Co-owner of a location, it will no longer be available to that person from the storage management site; however, this does not remove access from the location itself. You must make actual permission changes on the Microsoft or Google interfaces (Microsoft Teams, SharePoint Online, or Google at IU Shared Drives). This is due to the database noting the storage location's owner as indicated via the Institutional storage request form. Administrators are investigating a process for checking for conflicts and notifying owners.

Support

For help, contact your department's IT Pro or your campus Support Center.

This is document bhep in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2022-02-04 14:38:16.