ARCHIVED: Using Oncourse, how do I add, edit, or remove participants?

This content has been archived, and is no longer maintained by Indiana University. Resources linked from this page may no longer be available or reliable.
Important:
Oncourse is retired. For details, see About the Oncourse retirement.

View feature demonstrations relevant to this topic.

Note:
To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. If you're not sure what your role is, see the "Role" column in the Roster tool. For permissions, see ARCHIVED: What can I do in read-only Oncourse?

As a site owner, you can add participants to your site, delete them, or change their roles and status. However, some actions may be subject to automated roster updates.

You can do this either from Site Setup within the site in question, or from Worksite Setup within My Workspace; see ARCHIVED: Editing your site information if you've removed the Site Setup tool.

On this page:


Adding participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Setup.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note:
    Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.
  2. Click Add Participants.
  3. Under "Other Official Participants", enter an Indiana University Network ID or Guest account username for each participant, one per line.
    Note:
    To add participants who are not associated with IU, have each first obtain a Guest account.
  4. Under "Participant Roles", choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles; for more about roles, see ARCHIVED: Participant roles.
  5. Under "Participant Status", choose whether to let your newly added participants use the site right away by selecting Active, or keep them from accessing the site for now by selecting Inactive. Participant status can be changed later; see Editing participants. Click Continue.
  6. Choose the roles for the participant(s) you are adding. If you're assigning different roles to participants, use the drop-down list next to each name to select the appropriate role. If you're assigning the same role to all the participants you're adding, use the radio buttons. Click Continue.
  7. On the next page, choose whether to automatically send email to the new participants to notify them of the site's availability, and then click Continue.
  8. Confirm that the information for the participant(s) you're adding is correct, and then click Finish.

Participants you add manually remain joined to your course site, even after automatic roster updates. If a participant you added manually drops the course, that participant will not be automatically removed when the roster updates occur; you must remove him or her manually. To check whether a manually added student is officially enrolled in your class, see How can instructors view and use class rosters in the Faculty Center?

Back to top

Editing participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Setup.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note:
    Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.
  2. In the participant list, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role".
  3. Under "Status", you can use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose Active or Inactive. An inactive student remains a member of the site, but no longer has access.

    If a participant is still on the official (registrar) class roster, the participant's status will revert to active during the next roster load.

  4. Click Update Participants.

Back to top

Removing participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Setup.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note:
    Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.
  2. In the participant list, check the box to the right of the name of each participant you'd like to remove.
  3. Click Update Participants.

    If you remove a participant manually, but that participant is still on the official (registrar) class roster, the participant will be added back into your Oncourse site during the next roster load.

Back to top

Feature demonstrations

This is document arav in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-01-18 14:18:04.

  • Fill out this form to submit your issue to the UITS Support Center.
  • Please note that you must be affiliated with Indiana University to receive support.
  • All fields are required.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.

  • Fill out this form to submit your comment to the IU Knowledge Base.
  • If you are affiliated with Indiana University and need help with a computing problem, please use the I need help with a computing problem section above, or contact your campus Support Center.

Please provide your IU email address. If you currently have a problem receiving email at your IU account, enter an alternate email address.