Your IU Box account when you leave IU

At Indiana University, eligibility for computing accounts depends on your status as a student or employee:

IU Box accounts remain disabled for 180 days, and then are deleted. For more about account lifecycles, see Lifecycle of typical computing accounts from creation to deletion.

Preserve your data and collaborations

In order to make appropriate decisions about preserving the content of your IU Box account, you must identify your data and collaborations.

Private folders

In the case of private folders (which appear yellow in IU Box), you only need to preserve the data associated with the folder. Do this in one of two ways:

Collaborative folders

In the case of collaborative folders (which appear blue in IU Box), you must preserve the data and manage the collaborations associated with each folder.

  • Preserve your data
  • Manage your collaborations
    • Institutional data: If you are a member of a collaborative folder that contains institutional data, request that the owner of the folder remove you as a collaborator. In some situations you can remove yourself. For more, see Sharing and Collaboration - What Changed: Sidebar Changes from Box Help.
    • Personal data: Review your personal Box collaborations and, if necessary, plan how you will continue sharing your personal files with others. Once you've created a personal Box account, contact the owner of the collaborative folder and ask that your new Box account address be invited to collaborate. After you've accepted that invitation, ask the folder owner to remove your IU Box account.

For help, contact your campus Support Center.

This is document bbru in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2018-10-10 18:21:39.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.