Your student accounts, data, and software as you leave IU

On this page:


Your accounts

At Indiana University, your student computing accounts remain active as long as you are enrolled at any IU campus. After two consecutive terms (fall, spring, and summer are each considered one term) during which you are not enrolled in any courses through the IU registrar:

  • You immediately lose access to some IU resources (such as the IU wireless network, VPN, STC computers, Wells Library systems and databases, and possibly other services).
  • You will receive email notification that you have a seven-day window before your IU computing accounts (including your email account and IU email address) are disabled.

    When your accounts are disabled, you will be unable to access them, although UITS will temporarily retain their associated files, including email messages. (You will retain access to some services, such as your bursar bill, unofficial transcripts, and financial aid; see Access former student bills, transcripts, and other university information.) After approximately five years without further enrollment, your ADS Domain account will be deleted, unless you're registered with the Indiana University Alumni Association.

    Note:
    Faculty, staff, and student accounts that have been disabled but not yet deleted may be eligible for a temporary account re-enable so users can retrieve needed personal files or make final changes to their accounts. Users will be granted temporary access only once.

For specific information regarding access to various IU accounts after leaving IU, see IU account access chart for non-enrolled students.

Access and retain your data

You will still be able to access your bills, transcripts, and other university information.

Before your accounts become inactive, copy personal files and email messages you want to keep to another location, and transfer any shared files to those who need them. For more, see:

Check your print allotment, and request credits for any lost or damaged output before the end of the semester to avoid erroneous bursar billing.

If you wish to keep any files from Canvas courses, do so before five years have passed.

Note:
IU Alumni Association members have options for retaining an IU-sponsored email account after graduation. For a benefits list compiled by the IU Alumni Association, see Member benefits.

Use of university-distributed software

When you are no longer currently enrolled, you won't be able to download university-distributed software previously available to you, but you'll retain access to software already on your computer.

Important:
  • If you have Microsoft Office installed on your computer, you will lose access to it when your Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) account is disabled after two consecutive semesters of non-enrollment; see Your Microsoft 365 account when you leave IU.
  • With the exception of software obtained through Adobe Creative Cloud, when you leave IU, you must uninstall all Adobe software you obtained at no fee. You must also destroy any physical media. If you wish to continue using Adobe products, UITS encourages you to purchase your own retail licenses before leaving the university so as to benefit from the academic discount.

For more, refer to the account and service access chart.

This is document aoge in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2021-02-22 12:42:30.

Contact us

For help or to comment, email the UITS Support Center.