About administrative migrations of Google data

If you need to migrate your Google at IU data because of changes to Google Storage, you may prefer an administrative migration, where UITS migrates your data for you rather than migrating your files yourself. If so, you can select the administrative migration option on the Google My Drive Migration form or the Google Shared Drives Migrations form.

Note:
UITS uses the DryvIQ Admin account to migrate data administratively between Google and Microsoft storage. If you're a collaborator on a file or folder shared with you, you may receive notification when your collaborator's migration starts.

Comparison of the differences between self-migration and an administrative migration:

Self-service UITS-managed moves
Collaborations will not migrate; you will need to recreate these in the Microsoft environment
Collaborations will be copied to the Microsoft environment with your data
Version history and metadata will not migrate from Google
Version history and metadata will be copied to the Microsoft environment with your data
You can initiate the migration at a time of your choosing (as long as you can complete it before the end of 2022)
UITS will schedule the migration of your data; you'll receive email notification both seven days and one day before your scheduled migration date
Google My Drives:
You can migrate everything at once, or choose an individual folder to migrate, and specify the destination folder in Microsoft OneDrive. It is possible to perform multiple Mover.IO migrations for additional folders.
All data stored in your Google My Drive will be moved to Microsoft OneDrive; if some data shouldn't be part of that migration, be sure to handle them yourself in advance (deleting data you don't need, and/or manually moving data to an appropriate location)
Google Shared Drives:
Files must be manually migrated. Mover.IO cannot migrate data from Google Shared Drives.
All data stored in your Google Shared Drives will be moved to Microsoft Teams; if some data shouldn't be part of that migration, be sure to handle them yourself in advance (deleting data you don't need, and/or manually moving data to an appropriate location)

This is document bhwa in the Knowledge Base.
Last modified on 2022-09-06 16:45:25.